Stuart Levine Award for Leadership and Collegiality

The Stuart Levine Award for Leadership and Collegiality was established in 2021 by the faculty and administration to honor Stuart Levine, professor emeritus of psychology and dean emeritus, who joined the Bard faculty in 1964 and devoted 56 years of continuous service to the College.

This award honors faculty members who advance Bard College's commitment to distinction in undergraduate liberal arts and sciences education in and outside the classroom. The annual award recognizes those who demonstrate extraordinary dedication to the institution and its mission. Through distinctive contributions to the life of the College, award recipients foster and help to realize values of curiosity, excellence, integrity, and mutual respect among all members of the Bard community.

All faculty members with at least five years of service are eligible for the annual award.

Nominations are invited from students, faculty, staff, and alumni. They are due May 14 each year. The selection is made by the president upon the recommendation of the dean of the college and chairs of the four divisions of the College. The recipient of this award is announced at the final faculty meeting of the year. Previous recipients are Brooke Jude (2021), Swapan Jain (2022), Nicole Caso (2023), and Phil Pardi (2024).
